Vinyl Deli Logo

Free UK delivery for orders over £50

Until The Quiet Comes by Flying Lotus

Until The Quiet Comes

by Flying Lotus


Out of stock

Brand New

Barcode: 0801061023010
Format: Vinyl
Media: Mint (M)
Sleeve: Mint (M)

”Until the Quiet Comes” is the fourth studio album by American electronic music producer Flying Lotus. Released on 26 September 2012, by Warp Records, the album draws inspiration from psychedelic music, African percussion, and concepts of the human subconscious and dream world.

Flying Lotus spent two years recording the album at his home in Los Angeles, experimenting with different mixing techniques and dynamics while primarily using an Ableton Live sequencer along with other instruments and software. He collaborated with guest vocalists on certain songs, including Erykah Badu, Thom Yorke, and Laura Darlington. The album also continued his creative partnership with bassist Thundercat, who had appeared on Flying Lotus’ previous record “Cosmogramma” in 2010.

”Until the Quiet Comes” is characterized by free jazz elements, varying musical tones, contrasting scales, and shifts in rhythmic feel. Its songs are sequenced together, featuring ghostly vocal production, irregular drum beats, pulsating percussive textures, trembling basslines, trilled synthesizers, and fluctuating samples. The album has a journey-like concept and dreamy musical narrative, with Flying Lotus conceiving it while imagining himself in the process of astral projection. He later stated that the album could be interpreted uniquely by listeners, with some interpreting it as a musical accompaniment to dreams and a process of emotional introspection by the producer.

The album was promoted with two singles and a short film featuring music from the album. Flying Lotus also embarked on an international concert tour from October to November 2012, performing at venues in North America and abroad. “Until the Quiet Comes” debuted at number 34 on the Billboard 200 and sold 13,000 copies in its first week of release. It received widespread critical acclaim, praised for its complex music and Flying Lotus’ sound engineering.

A1 All In
A2 Getting There - feat Niki Randa
A3 Until The Colours Come
A4 Heave[n]
A5 Tiny Tortures
A6 All The Secrets
B1 Sultan's Request
B2 Putty Boy Strout
B3 See Thru To U - feat Erykah Badu
B4 Until The Quiet Comes
B5 DMT Song - feat Stephen Bruner
C1 The Nightcaller
C2 Only If You Wanna
C3 Electric Candyman - feat Thom Yorke
C4 Hunger - feat Niki Randa
D1 Phantasm - feat Laura Darlington
D2 Me Yesterday//Corded
D3 Dream To Me
Catalogue No.: WARPLP230
Barcode: 0801061023010
Genre: Electronic
Style: Abstract, Future Jazz, Instrumental, IDM, Hip Hop, Downtempo, Experimental
Label: Warp Records
Released: 2012
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, undefined

Receive this record and others like it when you join our monthly subscription box. We handpick records based on your tastes and our eclectic knowledge.

You May Also Like