Vinyl Deli Logo

Free UK delivery for orders over £50

Trouble Will Find Me by The National

Trouble Will Find Me

by The National


Out of stock

Brand New

Barcode: 0652637331516
Format: Vinyl
Media: Mint (M)
Sleeve: Mint (M)

“Trouble Will Find Me” marks the sixth studio album by the American indie rock ensemble, the National, released on 17 May 2013, under the label 4AD.

Produced by band members Aaron and Bryce Dessner, the album boasts notable appearances from St. Vincent, Sharon Van Etten, Doveman, Sufjan Stevens, Nona Marie Invie of Dark Dark Dark fame, and Richard Reed Parry of Arcade Fire.

Upon its release, the album garnered widespread critical acclaim, securing the third spot on both the Billboard 200 and the UK Albums Chart. Additionally, it received a nomination for Best Alternative Music Album at the 56th Annual Grammy Awards.

The creative journey behind “Trouble Will Find Me” began towards the end of the band’s tour supporting their previous album, “High Violet” (2010). Lead vocalist Matt Berninger expressed a sense of satisfaction at the conclusion of the tour, indicating a rare moment of contentment within the band. However, spurred by the inspiring demo recordings of guitarists Aaron and Bryce Dessner, Berninger swiftly contributed to the album’s opening track, “I Should Live in Salt.”

Recording commenced in late September 2012 at Clubhouse Recording Studios, chosen to foster camaraderie among band members. However, the process faced challenges, including power outages caused by severe weather conditions. Despite these obstacles, the band persevered, later relocating to Dreamland Recording Studios in West Hurley, New York, to record certain tracks live. Hurricane Sandy further disrupted recording at Clubhouse, underscoring the album’s tumultuous journey to fruition.

Thematically, the album draws inspiration from various sources, including the birth of Aaron Dessner’s daughter, Ingrid Stella Dessner, and personal reflections on family dynamics, as evident in the lyrics of “I Should Live in Salt.”

In terms of promotion, the band performed tracks from the album on various platforms, including a live rendition of “Sea of Love” on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon. A music video for the same track was released on the band’s official YouTube channel, featuring subtle references to Russian punk rock band Zvuki Mu’s music video.

In a unique promotional move, the band later uploaded a music video for the album’s closing track, “Hard to Find,” comprising rediscovered footage filmed off the coast of a nature reserve in Perth, Australia. The video captured lead vocalist Matt Berninger interacting with a group of fur seals, offering fans an intimate glimpse into the band’s creative journey.

A1 I Should Live In Salt
A2 Demons
A3 Don't Swallow The Cap
A4 Fireproof
B1 Sea Of Love
B2 Heavenfaced
B3 This Is The Last Time
C1 Graceless
C2 Slipped
C3 I Need My Girl
D1 Humiliation
D2 Pink Rabbits
D3 Hard To Find
Catalogue No.: CAD3315
Barcode: 0652637331516
Genre: Rock
Style: Indie Rock
Label: 4AD
Released: 2021
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Optimal Pressing

Receive this record and others like it when you join our monthly subscription box. We handpick records based on your tastes and our eclectic knowledge.

You May Also Like