Vinyl Deli Logo

Free UK delivery for orders over £50

Third by Portishead


by Portishead


Out of stock

Brand New

Barcode: 0602547976123
Format: Vinyl
Media: Mint (M)
Sleeve: Mint (M)

“Third,” the third studio album by English band Portishead, marked a significant departure from their previous trip-hop style when it was released on April 28, 2008. It was their first studio album in eleven years, and the band incorporated a diverse range of influences, including krautrock, surf rock, doo-wop, and the film soundtracks of John Carpenter.

The album’s creation was marked by a period of hiatus and creative exploration for the band members. After Portishead’s self-titled second album in 1997, songwriter and drummer Geoff Barrow put the band on hiatus and moved to Australia, feeling uninspired by music. However, a collaboration with The Coral reignited his creative spark, and he reunited with guitarist and keyboardist Adrian Utley in Bristol, England, to work on new material with singer Beth Gibbons.

“Third” was primarily self-produced by Portishead in their Bristol studios. Many of the songs had existed as sketches for years, with band members exchanging recordings and ideas. The album’s sound was a deliberate departure from their previous work, with the band avoiding the use of instruments they had used before and experimenting with new roles and limited frequency in instruments.

The album features a variety of analogue synthesisers, including the Minimoog, Korg MS-20, ARP 2600, Siel Orchestra, and VCS 3, as well as unconventional instruments like the clavioline and toy acoustic guitar. Each track on “Third” offers a distinct sonic landscape, with elements ranging from propulsive drum loops and Morse code-like guitar in “Silence” to “claustrophobic” electro riffs in “We Carry On” and “ukulele doo-wop” in “Deep Water.”

“Third” showcases Portishead’s willingness to evolve and experiment as a band, moving beyond the confines of their trip-hop roots to create a diverse and immersive sonic experience. Despite the departure from their previous style, the album was well-received by critics and fans alike, entering the top ten of several music charts and earning gold certification in the UK.

A1 Silence
A2 Hunter
A3 Nylon Smile
B1 The Rip
B2 Plastic
B3 We Carry On
C1 Deep Water
C2 Machine Gun
C3 Small
D1 Magic Doors
D2 Threads
Catalogue No.: 4797612
Barcode: 0602547976123
Genre: Electronic, Rock
Style: Alternative Rock, Lo-Fi, Trip Hop, Experimental
Label: Mercury
Released: 2023
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Stereo, Gatefold, 180 Gram

Receive this record and others like it when you join our monthly subscription box. We handpick records based on your tastes and our eclectic knowledge.

You May Also Like