Vinyl Deli Logo

Free UK delivery for orders over £50

– (Subtract) by Ed Sheeran

- (Subtract)

by Ed Sheeran


Out of stock

Brand New

Barcode: 5054197170577
Format: Vinyl
Media: Mint (M)
Sleeve: Mint (M)

“−” (pronounced “Subtract”) stands as the sixth studio album by English singer-songwriter Ed Sheeran, hitting the shelves on 5th May 2023, courtesy of Asylum and Atlantic Records. With a predominantly acoustic vibe, the album saw production handled by Aaron Dessner across all tracks, with additional contributions from Fred Again, Max Martin, and Shellback on the lead single “Eyes Closed”. “Boat” and “Life Goes On” followed suit as the album’s second and third singles. Notably, the album was released in a visual format, featuring videos for twelve out of its fourteen tracks, with “Eyes Closed” and “Boat” having pre-existing videos prior to the album’s launch. Serving as a successor to Sheeran’s previous album, “=” (2021), it also marks his departure from mathematical-themed albums.

Critically, the album garnered positive reception. Debuting at number one across various territories including Australia, Austria, Belgium, the Netherlands, France, Germany, Ireland, New Zealand, Poland, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom, it also secured top ten spots in eleven other countries, including the United States, Canada, Italy, and Spain.

In terms of its inception, Sheeran unveiled the album’s title, tracklist, and release date on 1st March 2023 across all social media platforms. Accompanying the announcement was a mini-European tour scheduled from 23rd March to 2nd April, aligned with the release of the album’s lead single. Produced and co-written by Aaron Dessner of indie rock band The National, who notably worked on Taylor Swift’s albums “Folklore” and “Evermore” in 2020, the album emerged from a prolific month-long studio session, during which Sheeran and Dessner penned over thirty songs, eventually selecting fourteen for the album’s final cut. Serving as Sheeran’s conclusive mathematical-themed album, the artist later announced a series of private shows in North America on 29th April 2023, as part of a mini-tour in support of the album.

A1 Boat
A2 Salt Water
A3 Eyes Closed
A4 Life Goes On
A5 Dusty
A6 End of Youth
A7 Colourblind
B1 Curtains
B2 Borderline
B3 Spark
B4 Vega
B5 Sycamore
B6 No Strings
B7 The Hills Of Aberfeldy
Catalogue No.: 5054197170577
Barcode: 5054197170577
Genre: Pop
Label: Atlantic
Released: 2023
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Yellow

Receive this record and others like it when you join our monthly subscription box. We handpick records based on your tastes and our eclectic knowledge.

You May Also Like