Vinyl Deli Logo

Free UK delivery for orders over £50

Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters by The Twilight Sad

Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters

by The Twilight Sad


In stock

Brand New

Barcode: 0600116995513
Format: Vinyl
Media: Mint (M)
Sleeve: Mint (M)

In stock

The debut studio album by the Scottish indie rock band The Twilight Sad, titled “Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters,” was released by FatCat Records on 3rd April 2007 in the US and 7th May 2007 in the UK. Guitarist Andy MacFarlane handled the production, with mixing by Peter Katis. Recorded over a brief span of three days, it includes the band’s initial compositions.

Vocalist James Graham noted a distinction between the band’s live performances and the album. He remarked that without prior exposure to their recordings, live shows might suggest a noisy impression, contrasting with the more nuanced experience of listening to the album.

Several tracks from the album, such as “That Summer, at Home I Had Become the Invisible Boy,” “Last Year’s Rain Didn’t Fall Quite So Hard,” and “And She Would Darken the Memory,” are also featured on the band’s debut EP, “The Twilight Sad.” Additionally, four album tracks later appeared in a re-recorded state on “Here, It Never Snowed. Afterwards It Did.”

In December 2013, The Twilight Sad performed the entire album live for the first time, followed by additional UK dates in April and May 2014. These performances coincided with the release of a deluxe edition reissue of the album on Record Store Day 2014. Limited to 500 copies and available only in the UK, the reissue featured bonus tracks, including demos and rarities.

James Graham, commenting on the album’s lyrical content, expressed that the songs primarily depict personal experiences, events involving people known to the band, and aspects of their living environment. He preferred not to explicitly detail the meanings, allowing listeners to interpret the songs subjectively.

The track “Cold Days from the Birdhouse,” the opening song of the album, was one of the last compositions for the record. Initially intended to be a B-side, it became one of the most popular songs, introducing many listeners to the band’s music. The first single, “That Summer, at Home I Had Become the Invisible Boy,” was the band’s inaugural composition, inspired by challenging experiences affecting band members and associates. It has endured as one of the band’s most frequently performed songs.

The album incorporates an accordion, found in the guitarist’s attic, in several tracks such as “Walking for Two Hours” and “I’m Taking the Train Home.” Unfortunately, the accordion is now broken, according to Graham.

The instrumental closing track, “Fourteen Autumns and Fifteen Winters,” drew inspiration from Serge Gainsbourg and his chord changes. Andy MacFarlane mentioned the influence of Gainsbourg on the music, particularly this track, despite not having access to a piano.

The album’s artwork, created by graphic designer/illustrator Dave Thomas (DLT), features a ‘boy in the mask.’ This imagery also graced subsequent singles and releases. Handmade fabric replica masks, produced for a live performance of the album, were sold in limited quantities to concert-goers. Limited edition screen prints of the artwork were also produced.

Released to positive reviews, the album received a favourable Metacritic score of 79 based on 16 reviews. Pitchfork reviewer Mark Richardson praised its vivid lyrical themes and street-level earthiness, labelling it with the site’s “Best New Music” tag. The Skinny hailed it as “one of the finest Scottish albums in years.” Both The Skinny and Teletext’s music page Planet Sound named it the best album of 2007.

In December 2007, the album’s opening track, “Cold Days from the Birdhouse,” secured the 73rd position on Pitchfork’s “Top 100 Tracks of 2007” list. In December 2009, it achieved the 2nd position in The Skinny’s “Scottish Albums of the Decade” list.

A 2012 review by UK site GoldFlakePaint praised the album as “compelling and striking” even six years after its release. It described the record as offering poetic and macabre sketches of desolate landscapes, presenting anthropological existences that are disorientating and isolated. The review highlighted the album’s enduring intrigue and deemed it a demanding yet profoundly moving masterpiece.

A1 Cold Days From The Birdhouse
A2 That Summer At Home, I Had Become The Invisible Boy
A3 Walking For Two Hours
A4 Last Year's Rain Didn't Fall Quite So Hard
B1 Talking With Fireworks / Here, It Never Snowed
B2 Mapped By What Surrounded Them
B3 And She Would Darken The Memory
B4 I'm Taking The Train Home
B5 Fourteen Autumns And Fifteen Winters
Catalogue No.: FATLP55
Barcode: 0600116995513
Genre: Rock
Style: Alternative Rock, Indie Rock
Label: FatCat Records
Released: 2022
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Repress

Receive this record and others like it when you join our monthly subscription box. We handpick records based on your tastes and our eclectic knowledge.

You May Also Like