Vinyl Deli Logo

Free UK delivery for orders over £50

Feline by The Stranglers


by The Stranglers


Out of stock

Brand New

Barcode: 4050538828658
Format: Vinyl
Media: Mint (M)
Sleeve: Mint (M)

“Feline” marked a significant shift in musical direction for The Stranglers when it was released on 14 January 1983. It was their first album on the Epic record label and showcased a departure from their previous sound, incorporating acoustic guitars, electronic drums, and synthesisers, courtesy of Dave Greenfield. The album drew heavily on the prevalent musical influences in Europe at the time.

The album’s reception was mixed. While it reached No. 4 on the UK Albums Chart, some fans and critics were divided. Some embraced the band’s evolution and new sound, while others felt it strayed too far from the band’s roots. Trouser Press described the album as “restrained and dignified” but ultimately “lackluster and boring.” Similarly, a retrospective review by Alex Ogg for AllMusic noted that while the album had moments that rewarded repeated listening, it often came across as “boring and unengaging.”

Despite the mixed reception, “Feline” spawned three singles: “European Female,” “Midnight Summer Dream,” and “Paradise.” “European Female” achieved significant success, reaching No. 9 on the UK Singles Chart, while “Midnight Summer Dream” and “Paradise” also charted, though not as high.

The inclusion of “Golden Brown,” a hit single in the UK, on the American edition of the album added to its appeal. Overall, “Feline” stands as a noteworthy chapter in The Stranglers’ discography, showcasing their willingness to experiment and evolve as a band, even if it didn’t resonate equally with all fans and critics.

A1 Midnight Summer Dream
A2 It's A Small World
A3 Ships That Pass In The Night
A4 The European Female
B1 Let's Tango In Paris
B2 Paradise
B3 All Roads Lead To Rome
B4 Blue Sister
B5 Never Say Goodbye

Bonus LP
C1 European Female (Radio Edit)
C2 Midnight Summer Dream (Special Single Mix)
C3 Paradise (Radio Edit)
C4 Pãwshēr
C5 Permission
D1 Midnight Summer Dream (Special 12" Mix)
D2 Savage Breast
D3 (The Strange Circumstances Which Lead To) Vladimir & Olga (Requesting Rehabilitation In A Siberian Health Resort As A Result Of Stress In Furthering The People's Policies)
D4 Aural Sculpture Manifesto
Catalogue No.: 4050538828658
Barcode: 4050538828658
Genre: Rock
Style: New Wave
Label: BMG
Released: 2023
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered, undefined

Receive this record and others like it when you join our monthly subscription box. We handpick records based on your tastes and our eclectic knowledge.

You May Also Like